AX Literary Series: David Adams Richards

The AX Literary Series proudly presents David Adams Richards

Date: Saturday, December 17 at 2:00 p.m.

Location: In-person, AX Gallery

Cost: Free, donations encouraged

The AX Literary Series is pleased to present acclaimed Canadian novelist, essayist, screenwriter and poet, David Adams Richards, who will read from his latest book, The Tragedy Of Eva Mott, on Saturday, December 17 at 2:00 p.m.

The Raskin brothers were once proud to be producers of a much sought-after material of great benefit to society – asbestos. But now their mine is under close scientific scrutiny, with reports of serious illness linked to the place. 

In the shadows of an asbestos mine, the values of a whole community are changing in sinister ways. The story of Eva Mott and the book that bears her name will no doubt haunt readers.

David Adams Richards will be joined by moderator David Creelman, and there will be a book signing as well as a question and answer period following his reading.

Please note:

Entry for the reading is free and will be first come, first served. To avoid overcrowding, those who arrive early will receive admission tokens which will allow them to leave and return when doors open at 1:30 p.m. Admission will be granted to those with tokens, and we will begin to distribute tokens when the gallery opens at 11:00 a.m. 

There will be a bookseller on hand, and sales and book signings will take place after the event.

About David Adams Richards 

David Adams Richards has received numerous awards including two Gemini Awards for scriptwriting for Small Gifts and For Those Who Hunt The Wounded Down, the Alden Nowlan Award for Excellence in the Arts, and the Canadian Authors Association Award for his novel Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace. Richards is one of only three writers to have won in both the fiction and non-fiction categories of the Governor General’s Award. He won the 1988 fiction award for Nights Below Station Street and the 1998 non-fiction award for Lines on the Water: A Fisherman’s Life on the Miramichi. He was also a co-winner of the 2000 Giller Prize for Mercy Among the Children. In 2007, he was awarded the regional Commonwealth Writers’ Prize award. He is a member of the Order of New Brunswick and the Order of Canada. The Writers’ Union of New Brunswick and St. Thomas University have established annual awards in Mr. Richards’ name.

About David Creelman

Dr. David Creelman is a Professor of English at the University of New Brunswick in Saint John. He teaches in the fields of Canadian Literature and Modern British Literature and has published a variety of articles and a book focusing on Maritime writers. David has also published articles on pedagogical practices in the university setting and conducted workshops on team-based learning across the Atlantic region. In 2015, David was named a 3M National Teaching Fellow. 


The AX Literary Series is supported, in part, by the New Brunswick Department of Tourism, Heritage and Culture, the Government of Canada.